1998-2002 Ph.D. University of Toronto, Department of Political Science
Core Field: Political Theory
Area of Specialization: Public Law and FederalismDissertation: “Through the Public/Private Lens: Reconciliation, Responsibility and Democratization in South Africa.”
Supervisor: Professor Melissa S. Williams

M.A., Carleton University, Department of Law (Legal Studies)

Thesis: “Diversity, Deliberation and Agonistic Politics: An Arendtian Critique of Habermas’ Discourse Theory”  (Pass with Distinction)
Supervisor: Professor Peter Swan

B.A.(Hon.), McGill University, Department of Political Science


2016-2019 SSHRC Partnership Development Grant, “Combatting Sex Trafficking in Northeastern Ontario: Mapping Exploitation and Building Community Resilience” ($194,894).
2014-2015 Rosemary Nagy (PI), Lanyan Chen, Donna Debassige, Kathleen Jodouin, Serena Kataoka, Adrienne Pelletier, and Brenda Quennevillle (Project Co-director).

Internal Research Grant ($3000 seed funds for “Sex Trafficking in Northern Ontario: Mapping Exploitation and Community Resilience.”)

Nipissing University Research Award ($5000)

Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) Standard Research Grant, “Unsettling Peace and Justice? The Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission” ($50,000)

2006-2007 Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) Institutional Grant, Carleton University “Whose Justice? Legal Pluralism in Transitions from Atrocity” ($7000)
2002-2004 Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship
1999-2002 Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Doctoral Fellowship
1998-2002 University of Toronto Open Fellowship (declined for SSHRC in 1999)